Why I follow people on Twitter

shutterstock_225264403

Image source (Meltwater)

Twitter is a place to share what’s happening around the world. A social media outlet that enables people to share ideas and information within 140-character sentences called “tweets” – you can also add links to longer writings if you’d like. But, the main purpose with Twitter is to not share too much information and get straight to the point.

I will share with you five people I follow and why. Before I list those five people, I’d like to add that you would want to follow people who actively tweet messages, if they’re not very active then you’ll probably get nothing out of following them. Also, keep in mind the content they post should be relevant to what you’re interested in. Furthermore, check what their follower count is and see if the people who follow them are of quality.

Let me start off with @Bob Franklin, a writer and editor of digital journalism. He teaches at Cardiff University located in Wales. I’m simply interested in the way he writes, his tweets makes me chuckle at times and what he posts is rather intriguing. My second favorite is @Chris_arnade, merely because he’s into photography and oh my! do I love photography! He also writes, which is a bonus! I’ve always liked the combination of a picture with a story behind it. Chris got his PhD in physics from John Hopkins University in 1992. In 2012 he left his work as a trader on Wall Street to pursue his dreams in photography (The Guardian). His main focus is poverty and addiction in the US. Here’s a great article he wrote about Pride and Poverty in America. Thirdly, we have @SalihSarikaya, Salih is an author of two books, speaker and digital sociologist. He studied in Istanbul -which is a beautiful country to visit in April!, his current work place is 360° Focus Digital, a company that provides Digital Media Marketing solutions to their clients (Linkedin). Salih also speaks a number of languages, which I find to be very fascinating. These languages include German, Kurdish and Arabic. Our fourth person is not really a person, but a company that deals with global news and information concerning politics and policy. POLITICO is based in Washington, D.C. What first caught my eye, wasn’t their red bright icon, but their bio that read “Nobody knows politics like POLITICO.” It’s so simple yet so complex. For someone who knows nothing about politics, when I first set eyes on their bio I straight away thought to myself that this twitter account will make it easier for me to finally understand politics. And lastly, the person who makes me laugh non-stop is Travon Free, a stand up comedian and writer for Any Given Wednesday. His twitter account is hilarious and his Instagram is even funnier. His posts are not only of comedy related content, but also of issues that matter, for example, the Black Lives Matter movement and the national debate.

I would recommend that you check those people out, maybe one of them will trigger your interest. They are all different in a way and maybe one of them will change your perspective on things.

One thought on “Why I follow people on Twitter

  1. Career Plan – Discuss with Duha

Leave a Reply

